To New Beginnings

IMG_0023 I’ve just had the most wonderful and exciting opportunity to transition my life from an urban metropolis to live in regional/rural Australia.  This blog has been created to help document my journey, including the new experiences and challenges that such a move brings. IMG_0984 I have now been living in this beautiful island state for 4 months – and I am loving every bit of it!  Perhaps it is still the ‘honeymoon’ phase, but slowly, each and every day (well…days that I am not working) with the more I see and explore, this place is certainly growing on me.  The ease of travel, relaxed lifestyle, clean fresh air, and being so much more in touch with nature and the origins of the food you eat are just some of the things that I really appreciate about living here. Sure, there are negatives, however, there are negatives with each and every town and city in the world.  For me, not knowing ANYONE (apart from work colleagues) was definitely a major negative.  It is always difficult to re-establish your support networks in a new city.  But I have been blessed with wonderful neighbours who have made me feel right at home.  From the fresh vegetables from their veggie garden left on my porch to the surprise Easter eggs on Easter Sunday – they have really shown me that it is the little things that count.  Such simple gestures from your neighbours when you are new to a town are priceless.  This is also something that I never experienced living in a metropolitan city.

Anyway, welcome to my blog 🙂 I hope you enjoy my journey with me xo

2 thoughts on “To New Beginnings

  1. I just moved to rural, back-arse-of-nowhere in France. TG for the Internet, eh? Because fields and wildfowl are lovely, but if you’re alone with your good self, the introspection of it all can just ruin your day… Got up way too early yesterday to drive my kid to rugby. Saw two deer cross the road at a quarter past seven. Beautiful. Really. But staying in touch with the world at large is precious.
    I am enjoying reading about winter in Australia. We’re just getting into summer, fresh tomatoes, dips in the pool and proper sunshine.
    Cheerio!

    Like

    1. Haha yes, it is so true. While it is beautiful and serene living away from the city..without interaction/the Internet to connect to the world, life would be very different indeed. Nice to hear about the onset of summer! We are starting to get used to waking up to frost in the mornings here.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

