Wholemeal Loaf

I have always wanted to have a go at making my own bread.  So last night, after realising that we were out of bread (and also that I was too lazy to go to the supermarket again just for bread), I thought I’d give the homemade bread a try.  And surprisingly, it was a success!

 

The recipe I used was extremely simple and I will definitely be doing this again!  There’s something satisfying about creating your own food, that you know exactly what ingredients have gone into it, and you can modify it each time as you please.   

To add a bit of flavour and a golden crust to the load, I brushed the top of the loaf with a light coating of olive oil and sprinkled some oregano for the last 15mins of baking.

Ingredients:

  • 500grams of wholemeal flour
  • 60grams of butter
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil 
  • 1 tablespoon of honey 
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 sachet dry yeast
  • 300mls warm water 
  • 1tsp salt

  

Leave a Reply

